Item Pre-Positioning Part 2: Daytime

Yesterday, I went over my definition for item pre-positioning and where I keep my necessary stuff at night and in some time-neutral areas. I went over that first because at night, when most of us are sleeping, is when we are at our most vulnerable.

Of course, during the day when we are awake (and hopefully aware of our surroundings to varying degrees), it is also important to have what you need nearby. Let’s start with the handgun and accessories. I have a pocket holster and an ankle holster, but that’s about it. Neither are sufficient when sitting down, which I do at this computer desk. When I talk about pocket carry next week, I’ll go over this in more detail. In order to access my firearm as fast as possible while at the same time maintaining proper muzzle discipline, I’ve found that it is necessary to keep the firearm off my person. Instead, it is well within arms’ reach and oriented with the grip facing me. The muzzle is facing away from me, out of a high window towards a dense cluster of trees. I keep it in the same pocket holster. It’s grippy enough that I can remove the firearm with one hand (with some practice, of course). Not the fastest thing in the world, but I’ve knocked it over one too many times. This is what works for me, for my gun, and my situation. Yours may be entirely different.

My glasses are usually with me as well on a raised platform behind and to the right of the monitor. They’re not always here but they are nearby. I can see and, more importantly, identify targets at these distances without them. I have peripheral visual of the door and I haven’t had anyone surprise me yet. As I said in my last post, this house shakes like an earthquake with every step – You can hear and feel everything at non-ground level. My cell phone is on the same platform (actually, a box of rubbing alcohol squares). The spare magazine for my carry gun is directly above the front end of the handgun, placed vertically with the floorplate facing towards me and the rounds facing towards my opposing side. This is important. If necessary, I plan on accessing the firearm with my dominant hand and grabbing the magazine with my non-dominant hand. If I have to reload, the magazine is oriented in the way that is most natural to me. To repeat, my carry gun is always fully loaded and ready to go immediately, and when it’s not, one of my other guns is. This the spare mag for my carry gun I’m talking about here.

My main flashlight is vertically placed near and beside the spare mag. As I get up and go do other things or grab a snack or just go anywhere out of arms’ reach but still in the house, I do the following: I place the firearm in my right-front pocket, the spare mag in the other pocket (oriented to give me a natural advantage), and the cell phone in any old secondary pocket. Once again, my wear for the day always includes my current utilitarian pocket knife and a small but powerful flashlight. My main light doesn’t come with me, frankly because I’m too lazy to bring it. Everything else, however, I’ve done thousands of times by now and it’s automatic. As I sit back down, everything comes out again and back to where it was, the way it should be.

Here’s some other time-neutral placements: My “battle rifle” is your average semi-auto AK clone and it remains unloaded (with loaded magazines next to it). Not gonna say where it is, but if I need to access it, I can do so and make it ready quickly. It’s always in the same place unless I need it. Remember, I always have a ready firearm within arms’ reach. That’s usually my carry gun, but when I clean that, the rifle gets loaded and charged first before I do so. I have a headlamp for nightly reading that’s always near the bed if I’m not using it, along with the book I’m currently poring through. Every home should have a first aid kit or station, and mine is in a rather inconvenient place and it’s a complete mess. However, we know where we need to go so it’s better to keep it in the same place. It definitely needs to be reorganized big time. There’s nothing special in there. Band-aids, neosporin (not necessary), bandages, a sling or two, pain relievers and the like.

That’s about all I can think of that really stands out. Sure, there’s plenty of things missing, but I’m working on it. We can’t forget that there’s much more to emergency preparedness than just items or just home defense. In fact, the particulars and the details of the items themselves fall squarely in last place. Mindset, tactics, skills, and knowledge top the chart. Nothing gives you the peace of mind you get from knowing that you’ve got your bases covered. You don’t have to worry about whether your best is good enough. Do the most you can do and your best is all you got. Nothing to it but to do it, right? I’d like to know what your systems are below. Let me know how you tackle your home emergencies.

Stay tuned, and stay safe.
-DH

~ by demonhide on June 14, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
